Adolfo Costa is the 2013 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award Winner

Adolfo Costa, principal of Coral Gables Senior High School from Miami-Dade County, received $10,000 from the Council for Educational Change on November 14th at the University of Miami, Newman Alumni Center.  He is one of three principals recognized for outstanding contributions in the field of education.  Kyle Dresback of Allen D. Nease High School from St. Johns County, and Robert McCue of South Lake High School from Lake County are the other two finalists who were each awarded $5,000.  At the event, Dr. Elaine Liftin, the Council’s President & Executive Director along with Sue Miller, announced Adolfo Costa as the winner of the Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award.

The Council for Educational Change, a Florida based charitable organization whose purpose it is to increase the quality of public education, presented the 11th Annual Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award.  In memory of its founder Leonard Miller, the Council established the award to recognize outstanding contributions made by principals to the advancement of education in the State of Florida.  Each year, the Council bestows upon a deserving principal $10,000 as the winner of the Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award while recognizing Gold Medallion Finalists for their excellence in leadership.

Charles Cobb, former Ambassador to Iceland, presented the significance of the day.  Miami-Dade County Public School’s Superintendent, Alberto Carvalho, discussed how leadership changes lives and the impact the Council represents in the state.   Two Leonore Annenberg College Scholarship Fund  recipients, Payton Kaar from Broward and Isabelle Tersio from Palm Beach Counties, each received a $250,000 scholarship.  They addressed the guests, explaining how the Council facilitated this amazing opportunity for them.  Through its programs, the Council for Educational Change has served over 1,550,000 students, 67 districts, and developed 5,000 school-based leaders.

Special thanks and gratitude to the event sponsors:
Carnival Cruise Lines, Cobb Family Foundation, Richard & Susan Finkelstein, Lennar Foundation, Miller Family Foundation.