June 2013 Update

June 2013

When the team from the Council for Educational Change went to Hialeah High School and met junior Natalie Antunez in September of 2012, they knew she was a very special young lady. Natalie was nominated, and eventually was awarded a Leonore Annenberg Scholarship Fund college scholarship worth $250,000.
Since receiving her award in April of 2012, she has proven that the team made a great choice. At her senior luncheon in December, Natalie won two senior superlatives. Her peers voted her "Most Intellectual" and "Best Leadership Ability" for her work as Student Government President. Natalie was inducted for the fourth and final time to the Hialeah High chapter of the National Honor Society. Four-year members like Natalie, being the highest ranking members in the club, are awarded a cord of distinction to be worn at graduation.

After months working on college applications, Natalie received notification of acceptance to seven universities: Harvard, Stanford, Princeton, University of Pennsylvania, Duke, University of Miami, and University of Florida. She will be attending Harvard University in the fall.
Natalie was selected to represent District Four at a Miami-Dade School Board meeting for Academic Scholarship Signing Day. A student, principal, and counselor from each district were recognized for their achievements in preparation for college. On May 22nd, Hialeah High held its third annual academic scholarship signing day. Seniors who have been awarded scholarships are invited to participate. Natalie represented Harvard in the ceremony.
Natalie received departmental awards of academic scholarship in English, mathematics, science, and social studies at her school's annual awards assembly. She also received a summa cum laude award for graduating at the top 5% of her class and was recognized as a member of the principal's honor roll. The final award of the night was the "Hialeah High Award of Excellence"—a testament to her untiring academic and extracurricular efforts.

Hats Off To…
Yenny Dieguez, a ninth grade student at Jose Marti MAST 6-12 Academy who won second place overall at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF). She also won: King Abdul-Aziz & his Companions Foundation for Giftedness and Creativity - 2nd Place Award of $2,500; Patent and Trademark Office Society - 1st Place Award of $250; Society of Experimental Test Pilots - 3rd Place Award of $300; United Technologies Corporation - 1st Place Award of $3000 in UTC common stock.
The Council for Educational Change welcomes new Board member, Richard Manners. He joined AmWINS Group Benefits in 2009, and is responsible for development of the A&H products, both domestic and international. Rich also remains President of My Back Office (MBO) which he founded in 2000. MBO provides Back Office support in the area of payroll, employee benefits, and Human Resource management to small firms. Rich is extremely active in the community and has served on numerous social organization boards and leadership committees.
Council Board member, Karen Fryd, received the Superintendent’s Special Recognition Award at the Miami-Dade County Public Schools Community Partners Recognition ceremony on May 9th.  Karen is a tremendous supporter for a number of schools, and serves as the business partner for the Executive PASS program at the Young Men’s Preparatory Academy. She has also been a long-time supporter of the PASS partnership at Holmes Elementary.

PASS© and Executive PASS©

  • The culminating activity for the B-PASS program, a partnership with the Committee for Economic Development (CED), the Council for Educational Change, and Jose Marti MAST 6-12 Academy was held on May 16, at Miami-Dade College’s North Campus. The event featured the work of all the community partners who have assisted the school in the implementation of a state-of-the art STEM program. As part of the project, three academic briefs are being published. These briefs are available on the Council website. Michael Petro, Executive Vice President of the CED participated in the event.
  • New Executive PASS partnerships include: Lorah Park Elementary – Principal Heather Tyler and business partner, Adam Vega of John Hancock Financial Network; Jose De Diego Middle – Principal Yaset Fernandez and business partner Eduardo Suarez of Mass Mutual Financial Group.

Commissioner’s Leadership Academy…

  • Applications are now being accepted from District Superintendents for the 2013 – 2014 Commissioner’s Leadership Academy (CLA). This prestigious professional development opportunity is for the best and brightest principals in the State of Florida. Participants will spend five days during the school year attending training sessions in order to build their leadership skills. Participants agree to: build the Leadership Teams within their schools, mentor a colleague within their district, and work with their Cohort to plan and implement a forum for other administrators. For additional information, contact the Council offices at (954) 727-9909. The CLA is conducted by the Council in partnership with the Florida Department of Education, and is sponsored by Carnival Cruise Lines, Florida Blue, JP Morgan Chase, and Publix Super Markets Charities.
  • The final two APEX Forums were held in South Florida. On May 17, Cohort 4 welcomed the Lead and Assistant Lead principals in Miami-Dade. Special guests included Superintendent Alberto Carvalho, and Assistant Superintendent Jose Dotres. Cohort 3’s Forum invited the newly identified aspiring principals in Broward County. Dr. Sharon Moffitt, Director of Leadership and Non-Instructional Development was the special guest. Both events focused on the implementation of the Common Core State Standards.
  • Two of the 2012-2013 participants in Commissioner’s Leadership Academy have received promotions. Brenda Grasso of Tampa was promoted from her position as principal of George Steinbrenner High School to the role of Area Leadership Director of Area III. Brenda will work with principals of thirty-five sites in Hillsborough County. Wandarece Ruan, Principal of Lamar Louise Curry Middle School in Miami-Dade, has been promoted to the position of Administrative Director, Leadership Development in the Office of Professional Development and Evaluation. This further demonstrates that the Council has been working with the best principals in the state.
  • CLA participant, Dr. Athena Adams, was awarded the 2012 Distinguished Administrator for Orange County for her work in Literacy from the Library and Media Professional Organization.

A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Gene E. Marshall, Chair • Charles B. Blumenkamp, Chair-Elect • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Hugh M. Brown* • Columba Bush* • Charles E. Cobb Jr.* • Irv Cohen • Scott A. Curtis* • Edward W. Easton*
T. Willard Fair* • Maribel Ferrer • Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd • Dr. Robert W. Graham, III • Bill Habermeyer* • Steven T. Halverson*
Elsie Sterling Howard • Cyrus M. Jollivette • David S. Kenin Esq* • Jonathan I. Kislak* • Daniel W. Mahurin*
Richard Manners • Beth G. Martinez* • Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller • Robert A. Morris Jr.* • Robert Moss • Anabel I. Nemrow • Beau Parrillo
Fred Pezeshkan • Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell* • Steven J. Saiontz • Michael Scheck* • Roger Slade • Elliott Stern* • Steven J. Uhlfelder
Keith T. Ward • Steven Wasserman • Joe G. Weaver • Lynne Wines • Dr. Paul Zimmerman • Robert A. Zinn     *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990 www.changeeeducation.org


JUN 2013 Update.pdf315.16 KB