July 2012 Update

July 2012

Way To Go…

  • Congratulations to Doug Davidson, Bank of America Merrill Lynch and Tammy Banhan of New York Life who were honored at the Booker T. Washington Elementary Outstanding Volunteer event on June 1st.  Mr. Davidson serves as the business mentor for the Booker T. Washington PASS© partnership.
  • On May 26th, 2012, two robotics teams from South Miami Senior High School attended the ION Mini-Urban Challenge National Robotics Finals Competition in Washington DC.  The teams finished tied for first place, both with perfect scores of 500 points.  The winner was decided by a tie-breaker based on the fastest time.  In addition, the first place team won the “Best Technical Presentation” award. The top two teams from five regional competitions throughout the U.S. qualify for the National Finals, which were held at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History.  South Miami Senior’s teams had both qualified by finishing 1st and 2nd in the Florida Regional Competition. The two teams won a combined $11,500 in cash prizes.
  • Staff from the Council for Educational Change attended the four day training sessions sponsored by the Florida Department of Education on the Common Core Standards. The trainings were held for school leaders throughout the state in preparation for the implementation of the standards statewide. The standards will replace the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards and will raise the bar of academic achievement in Florida.
  • Renee O’Connor, reading teacher at Miami Norland Senior High’s letter was published in the Miami Herald praising her Principal, Luis Solano. “I couldn’t be more fortunate to be inspired by a leader who deeply believes all students can achieve. It’s clear that strength at the helm can encourage teachers, accelerate change for our students, maximize our classroom impact, foster positive relationships and improve student outcomes.”

Dr. Rosann Sidener, Principal of Miami Beach Senior High School, is a former Gold Medallion Finalist and runner up for the Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award. She was also named the 2012 Principal of the Year by the Florida Association of School Administrators. She will represent the state in the 2013 National Principal of the Year competition. Dr. Sidener was recognized by the Miami Beach Chamber of Commerce with the Jan Pfeiffer Distinguished Service Award on June 2nd. 
When Dr. Sidener arrived at Beach High in 2007, the school had received a “D” grade as a part of the Florida Accountability System. The graduation rate was 63%. Since then, she has raised the school grade to an “A” and the graduation rate is now at 75%. According to Dr. Sidener, the partnerships with the City of Miami Beach and the Miami Beach Chamber of Commerce were important in the funding and implementing of changes at Beach High. She is a participant in the Council for Educational Change’s Executive PASS program, and her partner is Robert Bravo from RGB Group.
Utilizing the Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) program, Dr. Sidener and her staff have doubled the number of students taking Advanced Placement classes.  This program invites participation by “average” students. In particular, targeted students are those who: will be the first in their family to attend college; are part of a minority group; or generally receive B and C letter grades in classes. “The students who are challenged are the ones that I really form a bond with,” said Sidener. “I’m always for the underdog, especially if you can see they have potential and they’re bright.”

 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award 2012...

You could be the winner of the 10th Annual 2012 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award, with a cash prize of $10,000. If you are a principal who is currently, or has formerly, participated in any Council for Educational Change program or activity, you are eligible. Visit www.changeeducation.org for details and complete your application today.

Update on Council Programs…

  • The PASS Regional Meeting in Tampa on May 24th provided an excellent opportunity for networking with other PASS partners and also for gaining new achievement insights. Special thanks to Dr. John Hansen, Professor Emeritus at Florida State University, for his presentation: Perspectives for PASS Schools/Accountabiltiy 2012 and Beyond.  Thanks also to Principal John Haley for hosting the meeting at Franklin Middle Boys Preparatory Academy.
  • An Executive PASS© networking meeting was held for all principals and business partners for Miami-Dade’s 26 Education Transformation Schools on May 29th.  The event, held at Jose De Diego Middle School, was well attended and excellent ideas and activities were shared.  On May 30th, a second networking meeting for the remainder of the Miami-Dade partnerships took place at Miami Coral Park Senior High. Thanks to Jose Diaz of Akerman Senterfitt, partner for Miami Coral Park Senior High, and David Lombardi of Lombardi Properties for sponsoring these events.
  • Hialeah Elementary School held its fifth grade promotion ceremony in the elegant ballroom at the DoubleTree Hotel in Miami.  Over 400 parents, public officials, and guests were in attendance.  State Senator Renee Garcia was the guest speaker. Students received multiple awards including honor roll, citizenship, Jeffrey Miller Renaissance, and many, many, more.  All stakeholders enjoyed the event. Congratulations to Principal Carolina Naveiras, her staff, and all of the graduates.
  • Robert Bravo of RGB Group has been a fabulous partner for Miami Beach Senior High. He has supported the school’s Marine Academy where: one student earned both his Master Diver and Dive Master certification, two students earned rescue diver, and eight are completing Advanced Open Water certifications. Additionally, several students have earned three or more specialties, and six students plan to complete the Master Diver program this summer. His support also encouraged Miami Beach teacher Paul Rehage, who was named Miami-Dade County’s Science Teacher of the Year.
  • Two Executive PASS schools received recognition for their magnet programs. Sunset Elementary School was awarded the Elementary School of Excellence Award. Principal Dr. Marlene Leyte-Vidal partners with Health Semantics.  Principal Concepcion I. Martinez and the staff of the Young Women's Preparatory Academy were recognized as a Magnet School of Distinction. Nineteen additional magnet schools in Miami-Dade were also recognized.

A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Gene E. Marshall, Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Hugh M. Brown* • Columba Bush* • Charles E. Cobb Jr.* • Irv Cohen • Scott A. Curtis • Dr. Akshay Desai
Edward W. Easton* • T. Willard Fair* • Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd • Dr. Robert W. Graham, III
Bill Habermeyer* • Steven T. Halverson* • Elsie Sterling Howard • Cyrus M. Jollivette • David S. Kenin Esq* • Jonathan I. Kislak*
Daniel W. Mahurin* • Beth G. Martinez* • Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller • Robert A. Morris Jr.* • Robert Moss • Beau Parrillo • Fred F. Pezeshkan
Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell* • Steven J. Saiontz • Michael Scheck* • Roger Slade • Elliott Stern* • Steven J. Uhlfelder
Keith T. Ward • Steven Wasserman • Lynne Wines • Dr. Paul Zimmerman • Robert A. Zinn     *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990 www.changeeeducation.org


JUL 2012 Update.pdf66.69 KB