December 2016 Update

December 2016

Meet Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award 2016 Winner
Jeannette Acevedo-Isenberg

Principal of Downtown Doral Charter Elementary School, Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Accomplishments & Practices:
Promotes leadership within a multi-lingual school setting (English, Spanish, and Portuguese), and provides teachers with leadership opportunities to develop and coordinate school events and mentor others.

Under her leadership:

  • Received an “A” school rating
  • Achieved the highest math scores in the district with 85% scoring 3 or above on the FSA, ELA, and math exams
  • Won Golden School Award, Five Star Award, and Cervantes Award for Excellence in Spanish Education

“Great leaders give others opportunities to lead and the support necessary for those individuals to succeed. Mrs. Acevedo-Isenberg goes above and beyond to cultivate a sense of leadership, not only amongst the students, but also between the staff and the community.”
Karla Llera, Science Chairperson

Council for Educational Change Programs: Partnership to Advance School Success – PASS©

Gold Medallion Finalists
Tabitha Griffin
Principal of Belleair Elementary School, Pinellas County Public Schools

Accomplishments & Practices
In the context of developing executive partnerships and securing grant resources, improved student achievement by focusing on data and aligning the Florida standards with classroom instruction.

Under her leadership:

  • Moved the school from a “D” to a “B”
  • Improved proficiency in math from 38% to 63%
  • Increased parental and community support with 40 school partners

“Tabitha’s openness, honesty, and firmness have helped set a standard for operation between the school and the business that has been second to none. She has driven success which can be witnessed in student engagement and behavioral excellence.”
William Miller, Nielson Public Affairs

Council for Educational Change Programs:
Executive PASS©; Leonore Annenberg School Fund for Children Grant

Marianne Simon
Principal of Reynolds Lane Elementary, Duval County Public Schools

Accomplishments & Practices
Utilizing leadership strategies from PASS and Executive PASS partnerships was able to establish a culture of excellence at the school. She focused on motivating students, and staff, modifying their behaviors, and shaping an environment in which they were happy to attend their school.

Under her leadership:

  • Moved the school from an “F” to a “C”
  • Improved proficiency in science from 30% to 44%
  • Improved proficiency in math from 32% to 41% and the percentage making gains from 46% to 58%

“…holds her teachers to very high expectations, thoughtfully guiding us to meet our greatest potential as educators… Her leadership, high expectations and continued support have had a huge impact on my ability to raise student achievement.”
Katherine Aderholt Math Instructional Coach

Council for Educational Change Programs
Executive PASS©; Leonore Annenberg School Fund for Children Grant

PASS© and Executive PASS©
Statewide Sponsors: Raymond James Financial and Publix Super Markets Charities

  • Council for Educational Change staff is excited about Lanier Elementary in Tampa becoming their newest PASS partnership school. This is the first feeder school pattern PASS in Hillsborough as Monroe Middle right next door and Robinson High School have both been PASS schools and the principals continue to network with the Council. Rachael O'Dea, principal at Lanier looks forward to working with Attorney John Giordano, who is serving as her business mentor, and Sherry Ogden serving as the PASS partnership coach. This worthy partnership is sponsored through the Phillip & Betty Casey Family Fund within the Community Foundation of Tampa Bay. Special thanks to Gene Marshall, Council Board member and Superintendent Jeff Eakins for their work to develop this PASS partnership.
  • St. Petersburg High School's Technology and Construction Academy hosted an apprenticeship information session for students in their program. The program allowed students to expand their knowledge and understanding of future career opportunities in the trades. Experts in the field shared their backgrounds and exciting apprenticeship opportunities right out of high school where they get paid while learning construction trades such as electricity, HVAC, plumbing, carpentry masonry and ironworks. Students learned of high income potential via an apprenticeship model where they can earn certifications and may rise to the level of journeymen and project directors and all without having any higher education debt. Students in the program are also benefiting from the school's business partnership with LEMA Construction. LEMA is providing exciting learning opportunities for the students by providing speakers in the field as they study different units and also allowing students to come on to construction sites to see the real thing in action and learn from experts in the trades. Thanks to community support, the construction and technology academy is soaring.
  • Congratulations to Brentwood Elementary’s Executive PASS Principal Carolyn Laws and business partner, Gino Caliendo, General Manager of the Hyatt Regency, for their continued successful partnership work and recently receiving a 2016 Hyatt Community Grant Award valued at $10,000. Superintendent Dr. Nikolai Vitti, and Duval School Board Member Paula Wright provided motivational remarks about the valuable work being done through the Brentwood Elementary Executive PASS partnership with Mr. Caliendo and the Hyatt organization. Mr. Caliendo and Ms. Laws shared information about their positive partnership and the plans to use the grant to provide a new playground.

New Executive PASS partnerships in Miami-Dade include:
MAST at Homestead – Principal Lisa Noffo and Business Partner Dr. John Barimo, Miami Dade College-Homestead
Mater Lakes Academy – Principal Rene Rovirosa and Business Partner Dr. Malou Harrison, Miami Dade College-North
Miami Southridge Senior – Principal Humberto Miret and Business Partner Lynne Arguelles, Miami Dade College – Homestead

New Lawyers’ Alliance Partnerships in Miami-Dade
The following Attorneys have agreed to work with Principals and students:
Guerby Noel - Horace Mann Middle
Evian White - Fairlawn Elementary
Natalie Castallenos - MAST Homestead
Jordan Behlman – West Miami Middle
Janelle Vega – Lillie C. Evans K – 8 Center
Amanda Preston – Miami Northwestern Senior

A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Steven Wasserman, Interim Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Columba Bush* • Ambassador Charles E. Cobb Jr.*
Scott A. Curtis* • Diane Davis* • Edward W. Easton* • Dorothy Eisenberg • T. Willard Fair*
Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd • Karnardo Garnett, Esq. • Dr. Robert W. Graham, III • Steven T. Halverson*
Lori R. Hartglass • Cyrus M. Jollivette* • Jonathan I. Kislak • Joseph E. Mahoney, Jr. • Daniel W. Mahurin*
Gene E. Marshall • Brad Martin • Beth G. Martinez* • Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller
Arthur Noriega V • Harold E. Patricoff • Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell*
Steven J. Saiontz • Ned Shandloff* • Steven J. Uhlfelder • Scott Ulvi
Joe G. Weaver • Lynne Wines* • Paul Zimmerman, MD    *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990


DEC 2016 Update.pdf221.51 KB