About Us

 THE COUNCIL FOR EDUCATIONAL CHANGE is a statewide, 501 (C)(3) non-profit organization. Our mission is to focus on LEADERSHIP to improve student achievement and address critical education issues.

Since its inception, the Council for Educational Change has made remarkable strides. Here are a few accomplishments to-date:

  • Creation and continuation of new PASS© sites, now 95 schools statewide, where CEO’s mentor principals and commit $100,000 for their school model.

  • Held nine annual Florida Leadership Academies™ during the summer for teams including Principals, Assistant Principals, and Teacher Leaders for the purpose of improving student achievement.

  • Established Executive PASS© program which forms partnership between a business leader and a school principal in order to bring positive change to the school site.

  • Developed the Wachovia Teachers and Teaching Initiative to train and retain new teachers.

  • Through funding received from the Helios, Wal-Mart, and JPMorgan Chase Foundations, established a program to retain teachers in the areas of secondary science and math.

  • Funding from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation resulted in the development of a program to provide support for principals leading schools with challenging student populations.

  • Funding received from the Carnegie Foundation resulted in a summer Leadership Academy with a focus on science, technology, engineering, and math.

  • Coordinated the pilot of the National Board Standards for Accomplished Principals.

  • Established the annual $10,000 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award,

    • 2003 winner--Bart Christie, Bent Tree Elementary, Miami-Dade;

    • 2004 winner--Dr. Patricia Dixon, Dillard Elementary, Broward;

    • 2005 winner--Jacqueline Byrd, Reynolds Lane Elementary, Duval;

    • 2006 winner--Linda V. Geller, West Tampa Elementary, Hillsborough;

    • 2007 winner--Peggy Pearson, Mt. Vernon Elementary, Pinellas;

    • 2008 winner--Douglas Rodriguez, Ronald Reagan/Doral Sr. High, Miami-Dade;

    • 2009 winner--Valerie Ward, Scott Lake Elementary, Miami-Dade;

    • 2010 winner--Todd R. Simpson, Reynolds Lane Elementary, Duval;

    • 2011 winner--Enid Valdez, Piper High School, Miami-Dade;

    • 2012 winners--Dr. Patrick Galatowitsch, Fern Creek Elementary, Orange; Cheryl Quarles-Gaston, Carter G. Woodson Elementary, Duval; and Dr. Rosann P. Sidener, Miami Beach Senior High, Miami-Dade;

    • 2013 winner--Adolfo Costa, Coral Gables Senior High, Miami-Dade;

    • 2014 winner--Wallace Aristide, Miami Northwestern Senior High, Miami-Dade;

    • 2015 winner--Jayne Ellspermann, West Port High, Marion;
    • 2016 winner--Jeannette Acevedo-Isenberg, Downtown Doral Charter Elementary, Miami-Dade

  • Introduced SP SnapShot™, a data analysis tool for teachers and school leaders.

  • Developed new principals now through the Council’s online, competency-based Accelerated School Administrator Program© (ASAP) 

  • Developed the Educational Leadership Assessment© (ELA) online diagnostic tool for the individualized professional development of both aspiring and veteran principals.
  • Expanded the Council Board, attracting leaders from corporate, community, civic and education sectors, with Dr. Elaine Liftin serving as the Executive Director.

Please be sure and visit our News Room for more information on our work "in progress". Also check out our monthly UPDATE for bulleted news briefs.